Return To Seoul

Retour à Séoul

Cambodia’s submission to the Oscars

Frederique is a Korean-born woman living in Paris. She was adopted by a French couple as a child and has never visited Korea. At the age of 25, she decides to return to her homeland in search of her biological parents. What follows is a satisfying yet surprising exploration of identity.

DirectorDavy Chou
CastJi-Min Park, Oh Kwang-Rok, Guka Han, Louis-Do De Lencquesaing
LanguageFrench (Parisian)
Secondary LanguageKorean, English
SubtitlesEnglish, Traditional Chinese
Runtime116 mins
Theatrical Release25 Jan 2023
Available1 May 2023
Festivals & Awards
  • Asia Pacific Screen Awards - Best Director and Best New Performance
  • Athens IFF - Best Picture
  • Belfast FF - Best Film  
  • Boston Society of Film Critics Awards - Best Film
  • Hamptons IFF - Best Narrative Feature
  • Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards - New Generation Award
  • QCinema IFF - NETPAC Award
  • Tokyo FILMeX- Special Jury Prize
  • Cannes Festival
  • Sydney FF
  • Melbourne IFF
  • Toronto IFF
  • Zurich FF
  • Calgary FF
  • Festival International du Film Francophone de Namur
  • Hamburg FF
  • Busan IFF
  • Rio de Janeiro IFF
  • New York FF
  • BaliMakãrya FF
  • Adelaide FF
  • Riga International FF
  • Film Festival Cologne
  • Santa Fe IFF
  • Philadelphia IFF
  • Vienna IFF
  • Brisbane FF
  • Korean Film Festival in Paris
  • Montclair FF
  • Seville European FF
  • Hong Kong Asian FF
  • Taipei Golden Horse FF
  • Hawai'i IFF
  • CINEMANIA Francophone FF
  • Tallinn Black Nights FF
  • London Korean FF
  • Marrakech IFF
  • Stockholm IFF
  • Cork IFF
  • Oslo Films from the South Festival
  • Leeds IFF
  • Jogja-NETPAC Asian FF
  • Singapore IFF
  • Torino FF
  • Palm Springs IFF
  • Filmfestival Oostende
  • Santa Barbara FF
TerritoriesWorldwide ex France, Monaco, Andorra, Belgium, Netherlands, Luxembourg, Germany, Austria, Korea, United States, Canada, Brazil, Chile, Anguilla, Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, French Guiana, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, Venezuela, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Australia, New Zealand, Iran, Iraq, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates